About ICA

International Council of Accreditation (ICA) is sponsored by the following collaborating organizations:

  • IJCAHPO Logo Joint Commission on Allied Health Personnel in Ophthalmology

    Representing the interests of ophthalmology in allied health.
  • ATPO Logo Association of Technical Personnel in Ophthalmology

    Representing the interests of the ophthalmic allied health profession.
  • COTP Logo Consortium of Ophthalmic Training Programs

    Representing the interests of educators of ophthalmic allied health professionals.
  • CSOMP Logo Canadian Society of Ophthalmic Medical Personnel

    Representing the interests of the ophthalmic allied health profession in Canada.

ICA accredits four levels of training programs for the ophthalmic medical technician:

  • Ophthalmic Non-Clinical Assistant Program (Entry Level)
  • Ophthalmic Clinical Assistant Program (Entry Level)
  • Ophthalmic Technician Program (Intermediate Level)
  • Ophthalmic Medical Technologist Program (Advanced Level)

ICA is vested with the responsibility and authority to evaluate programs that have requested accreditation services. ICA's principal means of program evaluation consists of analyzing Self-Study Reports, sending representative teams to conduct site visits of programs, and deliberating at committee meetings.

For consideration of accreditation matters, directors of ICA express independent judgments and do not serve as instructed representatives of their sponsors.

Statement of Non-Discrimination

Members of ICA, consultants, and members of site visit teams are selected without regard to age, sex, race, color, national origin, disability, religion, sexual orientation, or marital status.